Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Universal Joint Clayton. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Oking421 3 days ago

Brisket Dip

Absolutely delicious. The egg rolls are amazing. You can't go wrong with any choice on the menu. Great atmosphere, even better food.

Stephaniefostercronic 18 days ago

Chicken Tacos

THE BEST food and service EVER. LOVE IT WILL SHARE THE EXPERIENCE

Kooltater 22 days ago

U Joint

Great burger! I didn't leave a crumb on my plate, lol

Collinstheresa 22 days ago

Burger

i have worked in the hospitality industry for 15 years as a chef ,grill master and a short order cook and i have been married to a picky eater for 23 years and for the first time in 23 years i have never seen her refuse to put ketchup and mustard on a burger because she didnt want to ruin the taste i had the french dip and was blown away it was just unbelievable food and the price was really fair we will be returning again and telling everyone we know that they need to try this place 5 stars .you have a return customer Keep up the fantastic work

Slawson about 1 month ago

Black Bean Burger

Got to be the best Black Bean burger I have had. So much flavor and not dry. Atmosphere at the U-Joint is awesome. Staff is great and hanging with people on the patio was cool. We will be back many times.

Kjgomez52 about 1 month ago

Southwest Chicken Salad

I love this place, the food is fantastic

Marty about 2 months ago

Black Bean Burger

By far my favorite reason for coming to Clayton is not just driving down Main Street, but stopping at Universal Joint for a black bean burger. Get this with the tater tots and you will not be disappointed!

Ranmarelg about 2 months ago

Burger

Food was great! Wait staff was not helpful. Wanted to order the sliders off the kid's menu. Was told emphatically "No," which in my opinion was not only rude but unaccommodating. We could have ordered a child's meal to go. This should be addressed.

Mltccjennings about 2 months ago

Buffalo Chicken Sandwich

Been here several times and get this sandwich every time. It is excellent!! Neat atmosphere as well!!

A 2 months ago

BBQ Pork Sandwich

Food is excelent! Need an Universal joint in Liberty SC, so i can eat there more often!!!

J 2 months ago

Spicy Egg Rolls

My husband loves these so much! We travel to this area once or twice each year and the U Joint is a MUST! We visit several times during our stay.

Tmirandabrown 2 months ago

Chicken Salad Sandwich

The chicken salad sandwich was awesome ! The chicken salad was so fresh and the grapes inside added a perfect crisp to the sandwich. The bread was very good also. I have very strict diet restrictions and the waitress was very helpful in helping me find a dish that would work for me. Loved the food! Hopeful to be back soon.

Cattailsofwnc 3 months ago

Spicy Egg Rolls

The best egg rolls ever

Lchart53 3 months ago

Steinbeck's

All the burgers at UJoint are good, but Steinbeck's is my favorite. Big and juicy, and the combination of flavors from pimento cheese, burger and bacon is very tasty. Fun ambience, large selection of craft beers, and live music make this one of our go to places.

Pooh 3 months ago

Chicken Tacos

I've had just about everything on the menu and they're all great but this one is my favorite, blackened chicken tacos are the bomb! Great service and full bar makes this spot the place to be!

Jmartin1230 3 months ago

Steinbeck's

How can I choose just one item from the UJ menu? Everything that I have tried has been delicious, but choose I must! Hands down the Steinbeck satisfies my burger craving coupled with their amazing pimento cheese....and don't forget the frosty craft beer!

Afmcguire 3 months ago

Hummus & Olive Tapenade

The hummus plate is amazing! I leave off the olive tapenade, as I don't eat olives, but I'm sure it's great as well! The hummus plate comes with pita points, diced red onion, cucumber slices, diced tomato, and a generous scoop of hummus. I put a bit of all of it on a pita to make the most delicious bite of heaven.

Cattailsofwnc 3 months ago

Brisket Dip

This is the best Brisket I have ever eaten. I get mine with added mushrooms. The brisket is so moist and delicious. And if you want an appetizer, I recommend the egg rolls. They are the best.

Nicholson483 3 months ago

BBQ Pork Nachos

We come all the way from NC to eat here and we love the fresh food and the atmosphere. You won't find any better!

Violajeannichols 3 months ago

Pimento Cheese Plate

The Pimento Cheese plate is my favorite thing to order! It's light, yet satisfying! The cheese is paired with bread and pickled cucumbers and onions and a side of extra pimentos which all go together perfectly!!! You won't be disappointed if you choose this as an appetizer or as your meal!

Nikkizigler 16 days ago

Southwest Chicken Quesadilla

Yum!!! Delicious with just a little kick. Chipotle sauce was great. I had a side of tater tots with it. Best tots I have had!

Cgosnell 18 days ago

Gyro

Best food in Clayton hands down!! Pet friendly, great drinks.

Kooltater 22 days ago

Sunset Queso & Salsa

Wonderful appetizer!

Amandanwhite87 28 days ago

Chicken Tacos

MY GO TO MENU ITEM EVERY TIME I VISIT THE UJ!! Never a disappointment!

Sdfleetwood about 1 month ago

Chicken Tacos

These tacos were amazing full of flavor and perfect combination of ingredients. Also had their wings, the lemon pepper ones were to die for. Service was outstanding

Jodi about 2 months ago

Burger

Steinbeck's Burger This one of my favorite burgers anywhere! It was cooked exactly how I ordered it and came out quickly! The combination of the creamy pimento cheese, crispy bacon and picked jalapeños was perfection! The bun was cooked on the grill so it kept it from getting soggy. I had the tater tots as my side dish and put a few on my burger.... so good!!! My hubby has the fire burger and he says it was delicious as !

Klmjenkins about 2 months ago

Brisket Dip

My favorite dish at UJ!

Hootiehoolynch about 2 months ago

Burger

The best hamburger & tater tots

Hmccracken123 about 2 months ago

BBQ Pork Nachos

One if my favorites dishes! Usually get this as an entree.

J 2 months ago

Brisket Dip

Soooo gooood. This is one of our favorites. We are travelers but this is consistently great.

Ramsmphunter 2 months ago

Chicken Sandwich

Best Chicken sandwich around! I add blue cheese to mine and got to have the side of tots!

Maleek 2 months ago

Burger

We absolutely LOVE this place!!! Beautiful patio seating, excellent service, awesome food. All in the heart of historic downtown Clayton! I always get the burger that has fresh jalapeños. It's delicious! This place is the one place everyone in my family agrees on when it comes to dining out. Great drinks and local craft brews and wine. We live 45 minutes away, but go at least once a month - totally worth the drive!

Tessyngs 3 months ago

Arugula & Mushroom Quesadilla

Really fresh and flavorful. This meal never disappoints!

Lchart53 3 months ago

Arugula & Mushroom Quesadilla

The arugula and mushroom quesadilla is my favorite of many good items on the UJoint menu. Hard to choose a favorite, actually. The salads and burgers are also excellent. Craft beer selection is big.

Ena 3 months ago

Blackened Flounder Tacos

Every time I go to UJ service, drinks and food are awesome. My favorite place is at the bar with the witty bartenders. Flounder tacos are the best. 😁😁

Dixonjcaleb 3 months ago

Spicy Egg Rolls

We live in walking distance from Ujoint, it is our go to place to hang out and have a bite to eat. The one thing that we never fail to get are the spicy egg rolls. Trust me on this one, you will like them. They are not overly spicy at all. A crunchy fried egg roll shell filled with a creamy and spicy chicken salad. And the pepper jelly that comes on the side as a dip is the perfect match. Do yourself a favor and make sure you get these.

Towlite 3 months ago

Buffalo Shrimp

The best buffalo shrimp ever! Also the best owners.... when our dear friend Lexie Clutter needed help with her finances while battling cancer the owners were so gracious to donate a gift certificate and let us set up for a day and sell tickets at the restaurant. We love the U Joint!

Hgawolfe 3 months ago

The old 1-2

The Old 1-2 is my favorite burger in town. Paired with super crispy tots and it is the ultimate weekend, weeknight, Tuesday, Any day comfort food. The UJ never disappoints!

Dcolston72 3 months ago

Steinbeck's

I have to say that I love just about everything on the menu, but it's this burger that is my absolute favorite! I was someone who for years did not like pimento cheese, but after my wife gave me a bite of it from the "U", I was hooked! If I couldn't get anything else here but this burger & the Southern Comfort sandwich, I'd be happy! We've been coming a few years now and hope to for many more!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September:
Announced soon

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA